NZ Quiz Championships

In search of New Zealand's smartest pub quiz team

Every year a pub's quiz night culminates in a nationwide search for New Zealand's smartest pub quiz team, the best of which gather in a three hour extravaganza which is often only decided by a point or two!

Another year and the SKY TV New Zealand Pub Quiz Championships are once again behind us. Thanks to all of you for making the night such a success!

Big ups to Scotty Stevenson for his contribution, and congrats to The Brofessors from The Elephant Wrestler in Takapuna, Auckland, our champions, beating out Eddie's Back, Don't Panic from The Residence Bar in Wellington by just a few points. And Kylie from The Crown & Badger in Tauranga is a happy girl too – our Last One Standing winner – taking home a one year MY SKY package courtesy of SKY TV. Big thanks to SKY, and also our other contributors to the prize table: NEON, Fan Pass, The T.A.B., Paramount Pictures New Zealand, John Melville (you know who you are) and Vendetta films.

Some of the event photos feature here (more on our Facebook page), as well as the final scoreboard, and our YouTube channel has footage of some of the SKY SPORT video questions, Annabelle's mulled wine Taste Test and the Last Man Standing finale!

Looking forward to next year already!


Video of the 2016 SKY TV Pub Quiz Championship

SKY TV Pub Quiz
Championships Table 2017–2000

Year Team Location
2017 The Brofessors The Elephant Wrestler, Takapuna, AKL
2016 Fifty Shades of Freeman Freeman & Gray, Ponsonby, AKL
2015 Irrelephant The Dark Horse, Mairangi Bay, AKL
2014 Fifty Shades of Freeman Freeman & Grey, Ponsonby, AKL
2013 Eureka The Elephant Wrestler, Takapuna, AKL
2012 Once & Future Kings The Kingslander, Kingsland, AKL
2011 Space Monkeys McCarthy's, Parnell, AKL
2010 Steve McDonald's Bagpipes De Post, Mt. Eden, AKL
2009 Eddie M'Bubu Cambridge Hotel, Te Aro, WLG
2008 Ultimate Deathray The Drake, Freemans Bay, AKL
2007 The Men Who Would Be Kings Kingslander, Kingsland, AKL
2006 Eddie M'Bubu Exchange Hotel, Lower Hutt
2005 Eddie M'Bubu Murphy's Law, Petone, WLG
2004 NFI Bob Guada Mexican Bar, Manukau, AKL
2003 R & C Social Gables Tavern, Herne Bay, AKL
2002 Britomart Six Empire Tavern, CBD, AKL
2001 Champignons Horse & Trap, Mt. Eden, AKL
2000 Die, Di, Die Horse & Trap, Mt. Eden, AKL

2017 SKY TV NZ Pub Quiz Championship


Check out some of the action from
the 2017 SKY TV Pub Quiz Championship

Topics, Scoreboard & Wine

Random Quiz Question